Entertainment, On A High Note

S&E Nashville is listening to CAM’s new “Untamed”

Cam’s sophomore album “Untamed” comes out Friday, Dec. 11 and around the Sports & Entertainment Nashville offices we can’t get enough of it. Cam is a rising star on the country music scene and her latest album is a big reason why.

CAM performing at CMA Fest in Nashville earlier this year. PHOTO BY MATTHEW MAXEY

CAM performing at CMA Fest in Nashville earlier this year. PHOTO BY MATTHEW MAXEY

As a songwriter, Cam emerged on the scene in Los Angeles back in 2010, making her way from San Francisco to pursue her dreams. Her first taste of success was landing a cut on Maggie Rose’s debut album called “Fall Madly in Love with You” and a song on Miley Cyrus’ album “Bangerz” called “Maybe You’re Right.”

She finally made her way to Nashville in 2013 and landed a record deal with Arista Nashville and RCA Records, which we detailed the first time Cam appeared on Sports & Entertainment Nashville.

Cam has already released two singles from her new album, the first being “My Mistake” which on reached No. 52 on the US country airplay charts. The second song, “Burning House,” climbed even higher reaching No. 4 on the US hot country charts. Cam debut the song on The Bobby Bones Show back in the summer, and fan support was so strong that the singer’s record label decided to make it her second single.

That proved to be a wise choice as just days before the release of Untamed, Cam received her first-ever Grammy nomination. “Burning House” is up for Best Country Solo Performance.

These two singles and a Grammy nomination have given her a great head start before the entire album’s release. She wrote many songs on the album with her producers Tyler Johnson and Jeff Bhasker, along with several other co-writers. There are 11 songs on Untamed that await her fans’ and future fans’ approval – there is no doubt she will pass with flying colors.

The 11 songs on the album begin with the title track “Untamed,” written by Ochs, Johnson and Beathard. The rest of the tracks include:cam-untamed-album-cover

  1. “Hungover on Heartache”  (Ochs, Johnson, and Werner)
  2. “Mayday”  (Ochs and Johnson)
  3. “Burning House”  (Ochs, Johnson, and Bhasker)
  4. “Cold in California”  (Ochs, Johnson, and Spillman)
  5. “My Mistake”  (Ochs and Johnson)
  6. “Runaway Train”  (Ochs, Mouridsen, and Bhasker)
  7. “Half Broke Heart”  (Ochs, Luke Laird, and Johnson)
  8. “Want It All”  (Ochs, Johnson, and Phil Vassar)
  9. “Country Ain’t Never Been Pretty”  (Ochs and Mouridsen)
  10. “Village”  (Ochs, David Manzoor, and Natalie Murphy)
CAM appearing a bit overwhelmed as the crowd began singing "Burning House" back to her at CMA Fest. PHOTO BY MATTHEW MAXEY

CAM enjoying the moment as the crowd began singing “Burning House” back to her at CMA Fest. PHOTO BY MATTHEW MAXEY

Prior to busting on the scene with “Burning House” and releasing Untamed, Cam toured in 2013 with the Swedish band Karavan, and in 2014 she toured with Dan + Shay on their “Where It All Began” World Tour, but it appears the best is still yet to come. In 2016, she will be touring with Brad Paisley and Eric Paslay on the “Crushin’ It” World Tour.

She will be promoting her new album and introducing her music to a wide variety of country music fans that she hopes to win over. She is planning to make 2016 her year and become a new force in an industry where female artists are championing for an even stronger presence. She is one of CMT’s “Next Women of Country Music” along with a slew of talented ladies with great music. Cam is a new soldier in the fight for women of country music to leave a legacy.

You already know “Burning House” and the rest of her album is just as strong. So go out and pick up your copy at your favorite music store or preorder your copy online here. You can also follow CAM on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.